Birthday Present

My husband’s hiking journey across America!

singing2thecows

So 15 years ago today, I arranged a little birthday present to myself. I scheduled for my last day of active duty in the United States Marine Corps to coincide with my birthday, September 2, 1999. Just that by itself, not a bad gift; but this particular day  also marked the 1st day of my final preparations to start my hiking trek from San Diego, California to Calais, Maine.

So there I was with my little white Nissan pickup, its bed loaded with boxes of supplies. Each box labeled with a different city. Twenty-five cities along a predetermined route between San Diego, CA and Marble Falls, TX. I know Marble Falls isn’t a big deal to most, but it was my hometown, it would be a good motivator to help me stay the course. Each box represented a supply drop that I had planned along my coarse as I traveled…

View original post 600 more words

Leave a Reply

