“When I was a kid …”

Image

Maybe this is just me, but does it seem like a hilarious amount of complaining about “today’s generation” of children are emanating from Facebook, Twitter … wherever people go to complain publicly?  My recent favorites are “When we were kids, video games were called ‘go play outside’.” and “When I was a kid, we respected our elders because we’d get smacked if we didn’t.”  Mind you, these quotes are coming from people in their 30’s.  Seriously.  So we’re basically getting a 30 year head start on being the grumpy old man next door.  Like, when we were kids there weren’t video games?  Things weren’t violent in movies.  I don’t remember children typically being required to be more respectful of their elders either.  So, for fun, and for Throwback Thursday, I thought I’d make a list of things that are actually better since we were kids and a list of stuff I miss … this does, of course, depend on when you were a kid.  Feel free to add your own reminiscences to the lists!

What’s better now?

1.  Disney movie themes.  Yes?  I mean at least nowadays the “princesses” aren’t scantily clad and heavily endowed teenage girls who basically know everything about everything.  I love “The Little Mermaid” and “Aladdin” but come on?  Give me the teenage girls from “Frozen” and “Tangled” who are realistically built (mostly.  They’re still SUPER skinny, but oh well) and a little insecure and still figuring out life. Like reality.  Enough said.

2.  Every movie made doesn’t feature ten year olds who swear every other word.  I’m not stupid.  I know kids say swear words, but that doesn’t mean I want to listen to them do it!  I’d much rather watch “Ender’s Game” which was full of wonderful storyline, dialogue and action.  And pretty much no curse words at all.  Awesome!

3.  Push towards less smoking.  Does anyone really miss Jerry, from “Tom and Jerry” lighting up a cigar in the middle of a chase scene?  I’m seriously excited about the lack of smoking in modern day tv and movies.

4.  Parenting techniques are kind of trending positive.  Don’t you think?  I love that self control is being lauded as the thing to do with your kids now.  Kind words and thoughtful discipline are being praised over screaming and smacking.  Not that I never raise my voice to my children, but I at least read better alternatives in parenting magazines, blogs and other resources.  I love it!  I need it!  I think this is better.

5.  Technology is fabulous now!  Smart phones are great, guys!  I mean, I don’t think ten year olds should have them necessarily, (another rant I heard recently that I semi agree with,) but come on!  How great is it to have your entire world at your fingertips!  Yes, it creates a slew of problems that we have to combat, but still, as much as people gripe about them, sales of smart phones seem to be going up, not down.

6.  Fashion.  Yes. It’s just so much better.  I get to look cute again and still be in style.  Those of you who suffered through the “Grunge” faze of the 90’s know exactly what I’m talking about.  Thank goodness for pretty dresses and cute hairstyles!

7. People caring about the environment – even conservatives. I’m pretty conservative and I love the trend toward not filling our landfills with stuff we don’t have to!  Cloth diapering is easier than it’s ever been.  Kids recycle now as a matter of habit.  I compost and garden and have chickens.  Big fun to think how conscientious kids are becoming about these things!

8.  Motherhood is coming back in style.  I don’t have to work outside my house now to be considered a contributing member of society.  I love that!  I never have people look funny at me when I say I’m a “stay at home mom”.  Actually, that somewhat condescending and completely untrue term is even pretty muchly evaporating.  Yay!

9.  Coffee, eggs and chocolate are now good for you.  Awesome!  I’ll have another.  In all seriousness, the growing awareness that real food is healthier than highly processed “sugar-free” and “light” foods makes me very happy!  My mother always preached this, but very few people listened to her.  I always thought she was brilliant.  Turns out, she is … according to recent studies.

Okay, so here’s the list of things I miss.

1.  Human interaction.  I text a lot since I surrendered to texting.  I fought it for a long time, but it’s just so convenient!  But here’s the deal with texting that makes it both great and annoying.  Now we don’t have to talk to people.  We literally took a group of teenagers out to eat one time, and at one point, every single one of them was looking at their phone, texting someone else.  I took all their phones.  Talking to the person you’re with is so great.  Ignoring them to text or take a phone call … not so much.

2. Old cartoons.  I know I just kind of ragged on “Tom and Jerry” but I actually kind of miss those oldies.  I still just want to see Wyle E. Coyote get the Roadrunner just once!  

3. Comic strips.  They were so awesome!  Peanuts, Garfield, The Far Side and Calvin and Hobbes.  No contest the best comic strips ever made!  *Sigh*

4.  The Disney Afternoon.  I know, I know.  It had terrible themes and cheesy dialogue.  I still miss it.  Tale Spin and Darkwing Duck were my faves.  Don’t judge me

.Image

5.  “The Neverending Story” and the good “Star Wars”.  I’m sure I don’t have to elaborate here.

6.  Video games that you could figure out in twelve seconds.  Is it just me, or do you sort of have to be a genius just to figure out how to play xbox?  I only play games to relax and I kind of like the old Nintendo games that you didn’t really have to think about too much.  These days it takes me like a week just to figure out the controls.  Now I feel old … sheesh!

Image

7. All the time I had before social media was invented.  Whew!  I waste a lot of time finding out about people’s food choices and hair appointments and whether or not they’re still with their boyfriends.  I don’t even care about this stuff!  Still I check it  All.The.Time.

So, here’s your chance.  What’s better, or what do you miss?  It seems like things always change for the better and for the worse, so we may as well focus on what we love about it! 

6 thoughts on ““When I was a kid …”

Add yours

  1. I especially like #9, real foods are healthier than processed. My grandmother used to cringe at any pre-made packaged food.
    I miss being in the kitchen with mom and grandma as they passed on their cooking knowledge.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Lamberts on the Loose

a travel and lifestyle blog

Lost in Lashai

The Latest Happenings in all of Lashai

The Selling Momma

Jennifer Horn - Avon Independent Sales Representative and Recruiter

HEM

News Agency

E.E. Rawls Writes

Fantasy, Science Fiction, and Life. Blogger, Author, and Book-lover

singing2thecows

Follow the adventures of Jason Jamar as he hikes from sea to sea

writerlywitterings

The mindless witterings of an author at work - and play.

Jillian Dodd

Official Website of USA TODAY BESTSELLING AUTHOR JILLIAN DODD

Carol & Tom Phipps Fantasy Blog

Blogging about our writing journey and our fantasy worlds...

A Writer's Journey

Notes on the Craft of Writing

@muz4now

Stan Stewart - the muse is present

@LauraLME

Digital Transformation - Poetry and Photography @VersesInMotion @VIMMedia

E-BookBuilders

Helping Indies Make Better Books

Christine Nolfi

Heartwarming and Inspiring Fiction

Foe-toss | LIGHT

Foe-toss | LIGHT Photography Blog

harmonykent

Author. Find details of my books here, including updates on promos, releases, etc.

How its Ben

My Life Expressed

the amway experiment

20 x 1K Experiment - Can I help 20 people make at least 1000$ this year, using only social media? www.amway.ca/karenulmanis

Into Christ Likeness

The story of a Christian wife and mother.

Ladybug Blessings

Crafts, DIY, Life & Faith Ramblings of an optimist from Tennessee living in Texas.

A lover of words

Finding a moment of peace in the storms of our lives

The Stonecups

Our Little Family Blog

Ita Vita

Such is life in Africa.

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

Titus 2

Thoughts from a Christian wife and mother

